Borehamwood - Anonymous Review

Anonymous's picture
How Helpful?: 
No votes yet
Anonymous (not verified)
Number of Visits: 
How Busy?: 
A few tables occupied
Date of Last Visit: 
Sunday, August 10, 2003
Time of Day: 
Weekend Dinner (Inc Friday)
1.13 / 5
Friendliness of Staff: 
1 (Rude. Where is the Nando's spirit?)
Speed of Service: 
1 (>25 mins - Asked repeatedly. I need my Nando's)
Quality of Food: 
1.5 (Very disappointing - cold, flavourless, burnt)
Decoration & Cleanliness: 
1 (Very dirty, nothing on walls, I wanted to leave!)
Comments - Stand out in our monthly competition! What did you eat? Unique aspects? Parking/transport tips?: 

Went there on Sunday at 21:00. Two couples. 4th Visit to the same Nandos.
Greeted well and seated in a nice round booth. Place was almost empty.

Ordered food and waited at the table. As with Nandos, you need to get your own cutlery, napkins, sauces and plates. Went to the station to pick those up and one of the members of serving team was cleaning the bottles of sauces and filling them.
The top of the sauce bottles were missing and when asked that can we have them, she rudely said, "As you can see I am cleaning them, so I don't have them. Just take the bottle the way it is".

We were like no, we dont want it. So she said, OK you want it in a cup, she brings in plastic takeaway cups and serves us.

Next, 15 mins later, food comes and same person serving and she slams it on the table.
We can see the peri peri chips were re-fried and not fresh. We ask her to take it away and she took the plate grumpily. In 2 mins, she brought back, a new portion of chips.

Then another team member came and said we are very sorry, other group of people left because of the service as well.
We asked for the restaurant manager.

In between we saw that the lady who first served us and cleaning the sauce bottles was using a very dirty cloth to do that.

When the manager came, we spoke to her ( Gemma)and complained about what was happening. We also told her that keeping sauce bottles open without their nozzles was a health hazard and using a dirty cloth to clean sauce bottles inside and out.
She apologised ( not genuin, she seems so fake) and also had a word with the grumpy lady who initially served us and who was cleaning the bottles in between.however the manager was kind enough to give us a voucher to use it again and promised us that next time this type of service will not happen. Vouches solves everything? Is that how they deal with it.? Extremely Unprofessional

Do I want to go there again. NOOOOOOO. Also i do not recommend any one to go to Nandos at all.

Its understood that Sunday nights are quiet, but you do not do cleaning and refuse to serve properly to close early. In that case, instead of closing at 22:30, close at 21:00. What's the difference between Nandos and KFC, one is fried and cheap and other is grilled and expensive????

Been to many Nandos - Edgware (6 times or more) , Kingsbury (5 times or more), Plymouth (5 times),Northampton (once), . Not had such an experience before

Add new comment

(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.

Plain text

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.